National Pan-Hellenic Council is made up of four active chapters

National Pan-Hellenic Council is made up of four active chapters

The National Pan-Hellenic Council is an organization comprised of nine historically African American Greek lettered organizations.

NPHC organizations are sometimes referred to as the Divine Nine.

“NPHC was formed as a permanent organization on May 10, 1930, on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C., and was incorporated in 1937,” said Grant Gunn, president of NPHC.

The University of North Alabama offers students opportunities to join Greek life through the College Panhellenic Council, Independent Greek Council, Interfraternity Council and the National Pan-Hellenic Council.

NPHC at UNA is made up of four active and two inactive chapters. Active chapters include Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. and Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. The inactive chapters include Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. and Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.

An inactive chapter is defined by as an organization not active on campus; however, they are recognized and there are no restrictions. This is often due to all members graduating and the organization having no undergraduate members.

NPHC promotes cooperation and harmony between member organizations and between members and other campus organizations in developing the best possible public image for the Greek community, according to

Many NPHC organizations at UNA do not allow undergraduates to join until they have completed at least one semester of classes. Some organizations may require students to complete more than one semester.

The organizations determine which semester intake for new members will occur and most organizations will not complete an intake process for both fall and spring semesters of the same academic year.

Other requirements for intake are in good academic standing in order to meet the individual organization GPA requirement and service hours. Most organizations require a set amount of service hours before joining, according to

Each organization has different guidelines and details for intake. The amount of time the process takes will vary.

AKA is an international service organization found on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. in 1908. It is the oldest Greek-lettered organization established by African-American college-educated women.

Fourteen pearls chartered The Nu Omicron chapter of AKA at UNA Dec. 7, 1980. AKA’s official colors are salmon pink and apple green.

The philanthropy platform of the Nu Omicron chapter is breast cancer awareness and Pink Goes Red, an initiative to bring awareness to heart disease.

Zeta Phi Beta was the first NPHC organization to centralize its operations in a national headquarters, first to charter a chapter in Africa, first to form auxiliary groups and first to be constitutionally bound to a fraternity, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., according to ZPhiB began Jan. 16, 1920 at Howard University in Washington, D.C.

ZPhiB chartered the Alpha Sigma chapter of at UNA Nov. 22, 2003. The official colors of the sorority are royal blue and white.

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. began Jan. 5, 1911 at Indiana University. The fraternity has never limited membership based on color, creed or national origin, according to

The Kappas chartered the Theta Upsilon chapter at UNA Oct. 10, 1976. The Kappa’s official colors are crimson and cream. Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc. began Dec. 4, 1906 at Cornell University. The founding members of the Alphas are known as the Alpha Jewels, according to

Alpha Phi Alpha chartered the Kappa Gamma chapter at UNA Jan. 17, 1975.

The official colors of the fraternity are black and old gold.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority is an organization of college-educated women committed to the constructive development of its members and to public service with a primary focus on the Black community, according to The sorority began Jan. 13, 1913 at Howard University in Washington, D.C.

Delta Sigma Theta chartered the Xi Phi chapter at UNA April 12, 1980 and became inactive on campus spring 2018. Their official colors are crimson and cream.

Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity is a social and service brotherhood of collegiate and professional men located across the United States as well as internationally, according to

Phi Beta Sigma began at Howard University in 1914 in order to exemplify the ideals of Brotherhood, Service and Scholarship while taking an inclusive perspective to serve the community.

Sigmas are constitutionally-bound sister organization, Zeta Phi Beta and share the same colors.

The Sigmas chartered the Beta Beta Alpha Chapter at UNA Dec. 2, 1998 and is currently inactive.

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. is no longer recognized at UNA. The chapter has been placed on University suspension until 2022.