Results are in for 2018-19 SGA elections

Junior Becca Bush and Blake Polson work on their currents jobs as University Program Council and Senate Pro-Tempore. Students elected Bush the vice president of UPC and Polson vice president of Senate.

Every year, hundreds of students vote to determine the next year’s Student Government Association executive branch.

This year, over 1,000 students voted in the opening elections.

With a total of 636 votes to sophomore Jessie Harbuck’s 477, sophomore Chase Holcombe will be next year’s SGA president.

“I look forward to serving the students at UNA in the capacity as president this upcoming year to the best of my ability,” Holcombe said. “I am excited to get to work.”

Junior Blake Polson will be next year’s Vice President of Senate with 804 votes to junior Cody Titus’ 281.

“I am so anxious to get started and cannot wait to work with the upcoming SGA executive council, students, faculty and staff,” Polson said.

The Vice President of the University Program Council will be junior Becca Bush as she ran unopposed in the election.

SGA held a special election for the secretary and treasurer positions.

SGA special elections polls closed Feb. 28 with nearly 400 students participating in the vote.

Freshman Tate Gooch won the treasurer position with 293 votes to Braden Gunn’s 97.

The new SGA secretary will be freshman Anne Herston with 228 votes to Linden White’s 104 and Harbuck’s 71.

The Officer Transition Dinner will be April 11.