UNA Hall of Fame boasts rich heritage

The UNA Athletic Hall of Fame, housed in Flowers Hall, will add six members to its rich heritage Sept. 29 at 9 a.m.

by Staff Writer Luke Smith

The UNA Athletic Hall of Fame, located in Flowers Hall, is a shrine to past UNA student athletes, coaches and athletic directors. Wall-mounted plaques are displayed in the hall, highlighting the individuals.

Jeff Hodges, UNA sports information director, created the hall in 1990.

“With my job as sports information director, you realize how important awards and those kinds of things are for the recognition they bring to student athletes,” Hodges said.

The Athletics Department will induct six new members Sept. 29 at 9 a.m..

The inductees will include current UNA golf coach Stewart Clark, and former UNA athletes Steve Kosa, Michele Hyde, James Moore, Louis Newsome and Brian Satterfield.

The Hall currently houses 100 inductees, including the following:

Bill Jones, a 1992 inductee, was a student athlete as well as the school’s head basketball coach and athletic director. He played basketball at UNA from 1955 to 1957 and coached the basketball team for 14 seasons.

Eddie Flowers, the namesake of Flowers Hall and a 1990 inductee, arrived at UNA in the 1930s to teach physical education and later coached the school’s first basketball and tennis teams. He was UNA’s first athletic director and coached basketball for 11 seasons.

Larry Smith, a 1993 inductee, was a letterman in basketball from 1968 to 1971. He set a school record with 55 points in a game against St. Bernard in 1971 and scored 1,477 career points, making him a UNA career-scoring leader.

Wanda Beckham Ross became UNA’s first women’s basketball All-American when she was selected to the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women All-America team as a senior in 1980. She set school records for goals made and attempted in a game and for the highest-scoring average in a season.

Michael Edwards, a 2011 inductee, is the leading pass receiver in UNA football history with almost 1,000 yards more than any other pass catcher in school history. He was selected for the UNA Team of the Decade from 1989 to 1998.

Brenda Mayes Harris, a 2001 inductee, helped lead UNA to its first NCAA Division II women’s basketball tournament and its first Gulf South Conference women’s basketball championship.

Pick up next week’s issue of The Flor-Ala for a story about the Sept. 29 ceremony.