SGA Executive Council assumes office

Students, faculty, staff, SGA members and their families gather at the SGA transition dinner. Many incoming and outgoing SGA members received awards.

The Student Government Association members shed tears and accepted awards as old members said goodbye to new members at the transition dinner in the Guillot University Center April 22.

The executive council adopted their new titles and swore into office. The new officers are President Sarah Green, Vice President of Senate Tyler Delano, Vice President of the University Program Council Nick Smith, Secretary Jessica McAlister and Treasurer Nikki Mathews.

The event took a poetic turn when Director of Student Engagement Tyler Thompson shared a poem he wrote for the changeover of SGA members.

“The birth of brand new endeavors, always started by a few, who will carry them to the future, the torch is passed—will you?” Thompson said.

Freshman Forum members Marissa Deal and Ashton Geiger received awards for their dedication and leadership efforts. Both tied for Freshman Forum Member of the Year.

Deal “always has a smile on her face,” said Freshman Forum Adviser Kelsey Hyche.

Geiger works tirelessly for Freshman Forum including designing posters and running their social media campaign, Hyche said.

Jordan Cooper took home the Senator of the Year award for his determination in accomplishing his goals for SGA, including getting Bibb Graves cleaned.

Jose Figueroa-Cifuentes received the UPC Delegate of the Year for his efforts in UPC.

“Personally I’ve never seen someone with such a hard work ethic for literally everything,” said former UPC Vice President Adam McCollum.

The R.L. Potts Award went to Sam Satterfield for three years of outstanding SGA service and his ability to “think critically,” Thompson said.

For more quotes from the SGA transition dinner, check the April 28 edition of The Flor-Ala.