Students receive awards from university

Jessica Livingston SGA Beat Writer [email protected]

Student Government Association, Academic Affairs and Student Affairs recognized successful students, faculty and staff at the University Awards Gala April 24.  

 Four graduating seniors received the Dean’s Award from each college.  

 Nathan Smith received the Dean’s Award of the College of Arts & SciencesMr. Ron PattersonAssociate Vice President for Enrollment Management said his instructors describe him as intelligent, soulful, driven and creative, surpassing the accomplishments of several art student in the department. 

 Gabrielo Gomez-Perez received the award for the Dean’s Award for the College of Business. Perez is also the recipient for the Outstanding Academic Achievement Award for Accounting and Finance.  

 Gabrielo has been recognized as a promising alumni and has served as the College of Business’ ambassador,” Jessica McAllister said.  

 The winner of the Dean’s Award for the College of Education and Human Sciences is Heather Fields.  

 (Fields) graduated in the summer of 2016 with a degree in Interior Design and a Bachelor of Science in Human and Environmental Sciences,” Patterson said. 

 Carson Hagood received the Dean’s Award for the College of Nursing.  

 Hagood exemplifies high integrity. One faculty member describes Carson as, “without a doubt the best undergraduate nursing student that I’ve ever taught.” 

 The university also presented awards such as President’s Diversity Awards, Global Lions Awards, W. T. McElheny Award, and Eleanor Gaunder Phi Kappa Phi Excellence in Teaching Award.  

 There were three awards given under the President’s Diversity Awards. Dr. Katie Owens-Murphy received the award for Faculty Diversity. Kijana Mitchell was the recipient of the Student Diversity award, and Black Student Alliance won the award for Student Organization Diversity.  

 Two awards known as the Global Lions Award was given to Gongzu “Aaron” Zhang, international student and Brittney Carter, study abroad student.  

 The award recipient for the W. T. McElheny Award is Mr. David Black.  


“Mr. Black has served as an inspiration to many SGA members through his work as an economic instructor and as a Colbert County Commissioner,” McAllister said. 

Dr. Scott Infanger received the Eleanor Gaunder Phi Kappa Phi Excellence in Teaching Award.  

Infanger has taught Spanish for the University since 2009. He has lead UNA Study Abroad students to Peru and Spain. Infanger has the ability to interact and teach students in all levels of Spanish,” Patterson said.